Barcelona, Spain

2 Feb

The Barcelona airport on the way to London Stansted airport

How do you like them apples, Ryanair?

As you know, budget airlines like to screw you out of your money in any way they can. But last weekend, good triumphed over evil when I approached the Ryanair desk laden down with three jackets, my “eurobag” & an attitude.
 
As I waited in line to get my ticket checked, the fun-sucking flight attendant informed me that I would have to make sure my bag was the proper size. In other words, he was under the impression that it wasn’t & was more than happy to charge me 60 euro to put it under the plane. No. Uh-uh. Not happening.
 

I hauled my bag & load of jackets over to the little bin, looking into it with disdain. It DID look really tiny now that I was hovering over it & I’d filled my bag to capacity like the average girl would. Sweating bullets, I hoisted the bag up & slammed it down into the bin, it’s bottom quarter barely edging past the top. The flight attendant was unimpressed. Even with pushing, my bag’s top half remained marooned. Fearful that if I forced it for too long, the flight attendant would deem it too big, I did the only thing I could do.

toemail, toes, feet, photography, Barcelona, Spain

I sat on it. HARD. Turning around sharply, I slammed my buttocks onto the top of the bag, sending it sailing into the bottom of the bin with a satisfied crash. Now that I had the entire gate’s attention, I pursed my lips into a smug, satisfied grin, all the while remaining seated on my little throne. “I think that’s fine,” muttered the flight attendant sharply, handing me back my boarding pass. I floated back to my place in line like a goddess, feeling very proud indeed. ”I’ve never seen a girl do that before, that made my day!” said the British man standing in front of me in line. I smiled grandly, reveling in the afterglow of my clever antics. My incessant laughter showed no sign of stopping, even as my face turned redder than a beet. I guess I got a pretty good story out of my very unorthodox, un-American holiday season after all.
 
So happy holidays, everyone! & may your holidays be as sassy, foolish & utterly unabashed as mine!
Great story!
Check out louder than words !
12 Responses to “Barcelona, Spain”

  1. James February 2, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    Now that I would have liked to have seen! Good for you!

    James

    • toemailer February 5, 2013 at 3:10 am #

      Yea, we had that thought too. :)

  2. John February 2, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    Excellent!!

  3. Jeff | Planet Bell February 3, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    Did you have any trouble getting back out of the bin after smashing it in?

  4. inavukic February 3, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    Nice dress, nice sandals – even the tongue’s healthy. But that plastic bag – ah, well, can’t be perfect always :)

    • toemailer February 5, 2013 at 3:10 am #

      LOL, close but no cigar, ya figure? :)

  5. KY February 3, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    Well, a girl’s gotta do what a girl gotta do! Good for you! Show them stuck ups that an extra inch or two don’t matter that much.

    • toemailer February 5, 2013 at 3:11 am #

      Rules were made to be broken! :)

  6. phildynan February 3, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    Good tactic! OK, but I recently took that same flight and it was like an afternoon on the “:Shopping Channel” with Ryanair attendants parading up and down the aisle selling everything from lottery tickets to jewelry….one of them even kicked me because I “wasn’t paying attention”…and he “thought” I might want a lottery ticket.

    • toemailer February 5, 2013 at 3:12 am #

      Ouch, sounds pretty rude. :(

  7. Jill Nelson February 4, 2013 at 12:27 am #

    Oh my…Ryan Air should actually pass out anxiety pills with their tickets. I stressed and stressed for months on upcoming flights I had booked with them. I measured, re-measured, weighed and re-weighed luggage. In the end, it all turned out fine. Ryan Air is a perfect travel option if you are aware of, and stick to, their guidelines.

    • toemailer February 5, 2013 at 3:12 am #

      We seem to have a hung jury on Ryan Air lol …. :)

Let us know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,189 other followers

