Borobudur, Indonesia

18 May

When I was eighteen and stepped outside the airport in Jakarta the heat and humidity were so intense I thought I was going to faint. The city I lived in for a year as an exchange student was situated in the hills a few hours outside of Jakarta and thankfully, had a slightly more moderate climate.

But certain experiences in my early years have conditioned me to be somewhat fond of humidity. First it was summers spent in Wisconsin with my grandparents where I loved the warm thunder showers that would break the heat and bring mosquitoes. This was such a change compared to the arid dry weather of Southern California. Then came Indonesia where the vegetation was so lush and wet sensuality pulsed through the air despite the sexual constraint of the culture. After that came time in Connecticut and New York where summers were filled with verdant green and restless nights from heat.

And yes, these climates are sticky and gross and make my hair even more unruly. But I also feel a certain comfort in the warmth. I feel alive in the mess of it. And maybe that is precisely why I like humidity and the rain that washes it all away.

The photo was taken at Borobudur, a Buddhist temple in Indonesia. The bell shaped structures are called stupas. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Borobudur

feet,toes,bell shaped, ladies, Borobudur, Indonesia

Very unusual structures, great shot! :)

Check out Lise’s Letters !

4 Responses to “Borobudur, Indonesia”

  1. Jayde-Ashe May 18, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    I had the exact same reaction when I stepped outside the airport in Bangkok for the first time, but after a few months I grew to love it too! I moved to a tropical island in the whitsundays which was humidity/tropical storm/cyclone central.

    • toemailer May 20, 2013 at 2:58 am #

      Us humans are adaptable, that is for sure! :)

  2. angelicvicky May 19, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    Reblogged this on nesslisa404 and commented:
    Wow, so interesting

Let us know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,007 other followers

