Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

6 Jul

back to business, to the life of a humble backpacker, arriving into Darwin the first thing I did was drop my bag at my hostel. Putting the overspill into my rucksack (having left Melbourne with space I blame my apparent bad packing), so heavier than it should be, taking it off I managed to break a strap off… Making that broken rucksack number 4, or possibly 5 (i’ve lost count!) ironically after fixing another backpack, resigned I went in search of a travel sewing kit. Sustenance on the brain, I sourced my first sushi in a good wee while! Arriving into my six bed dorm, I was met with four Estonians! The first on my travels, a novel accent, not understanding anything, the only word I caught was ‘bedbugs’… (a universal word in all backpacker languages!) I certainly understood that one! Itchy already…! Aiming for a relatively inexpensive week, back on the filled pasta, easy, quick and tasty, it is a backpackers best friend.

Reunited with my friend Lisa who I met in Adelaide, we sourced some inexpensive lunch and caught up on the last four months. Feeling like we had seen each other the day before, it was really nice to have company in a new city :) . Venturing to the ‘top’ attraction in Darwin of Crocosaurus Cove (as rated by lonely planet) we found (yes you guessed it) crocodiles! Finding a sign telling me that two of the crocodiles had been renamed Kate and William in honour of the royal wedding (I wonder if they know?!) we also got to play with a baby crocodile! Soft and very cute, we got a photo to mark the occasion!

Women, baby crocodile on head,Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

crocodile,feet,toes.glass bell,Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

No chance you’re getting me in there…

feet,toes,woman, crocodile tank,Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

Wow, great shots! Funny how those crocs start out so cute, sort of…lol :)

Check out jwilson !

One Response to “Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia”

  1. jheem July 6, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    Oh, the picture of the croc swimming above in the aquarium gives me shudders!

Let us know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,440 other followers

