Urbino, Italy

16 Jul

Now that work is finally done, I have time to play around and actually be a tourist! Urbino is such a great city with a lot of things to see that we haven’t had time to. Tomorrow morning we are going to the Ducal Palace and The House of Rafaello. I’m not the biggest history fan but this entire city is filled with history that’s a must see. They’ve preserved so much of the history in Urbino and aren’t allowed to build a lot of modern things. I like it. It wouldn’t be Urbino otherwise. I’ll also have time to shop! I have a few more gifts I need to get and a few things for myself of course too! I just wish I could bring everything back with me! On Saturday, Urbino has a Saturday Market that I was able to take some time away from editing and browse the market. They have a lot of clothes and shoe stands then a lot of fruit, vegetable, cheese and meat stands. There were a lot of random stands that had things like pots and pans and underwear. One had carpets and another had curtains. It was stuff I didn’t expect to see at a market like this. But after I thought about it for a minute, it makes sense. Urbino doesn’t have a store even similar to a walmart or anything. There aren’t stores close by where people can buy that sort of stuff so it kinda makes sense that they would sell some at the markets. I ended up eating lunch at the market. I bought a piece of this fluffy bread that had tomato and seasonings on the top that was similar to a pizza. Then I bought some casciotta. It’s a type of cheese that’s made here in Urbino. It was so delicious. It was really creamy, which is my favorite kind of cheese. I also bought some apples and peaches because I don’t like pastries for breakfast so I’ve been buying fruits and the market fruits are very good and cheap. I wanted to bring everything home. It seems that the things I want to bring home the most are food, which is very difficult to travel across the world with. I always see so many things that I know my family or Adam would love and wish I could bring it back.

Last night, we went out for dinner instead of eating in the dining hall. I got a four cheese pizza. It was so good. My friend tired to warn me and say its a whole lot of cheese and heavy. But I don’t think there’s such a thing as too much cheese. I’m glad I didn’t listen to her because I loved it. It was a huge pizza and I ate half of it. Then we all bought some cheap wine and hung out on the piazza. It was a pretty good night. Plus I got to relax for most of today, until our Italian test. I was terrified I’d fail this test because Italian class hasn’t been a priority for any of us here so I haven’t retained much of it. But the test was a lot easier than we expected. I’m not expecting an A or anything but I don’t think I failed, which is good.

feet,toes,women, Piazza della Repubblica,Urbino, Italy

Great shot! Sounds like a great time was had by all! :)

Check out Megan goes to Italy !

2 Responses to “Urbino, Italy”

  1. Megan Vaughan July 17, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Looks great! I’m glad Urbino got to appear on toemail!

    • toemailer July 23, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      And so are we, thanks again! :)

Let us know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,582 other followers

