Paris, France

14 Dec

The Banjo Lesson- Henry Ossawa Tanner

First African American painter to include positive images of his own culture. I’m using this as the inspiration for my new painting. Can’t wait!

toemail, toes, feet, photography, Paris, France

Excellent painting!

Check out The Poetry Corner !

14 Responses to “Paris, France”

  1. Kitten S. December 14, 2013 at 1:07 am #

    I love the tradition and warmth behind it! The painter obviously loves his subjects

  2. Kitten S. December 14, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    Reblogged this on Kitten's Ideas and commented:
    When I look at paintings I look for what the painter felt for their subjects. What makes this painting stand out to me is the obvious love this painter has for his subjects

  3. v December 14, 2013 at 3:04 am #

    Nice, I will look for more of his work

  4. semprevento December 14, 2013 at 6:55 am #

    Wow….wonderful!
    v.

  5. The Crazy Crone December 14, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    This is a lovely painting, it conveys the affection the painter feels plus shows the love between the two subjects, absolutely beautiful way to start my day.

  6. gailkav December 15, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    What a beautiful painting.

  7. TiaGhoulina December 15, 2013 at 5:27 am #

    I’ve always loved his use of color in this painting, my professor used it as an example frequently!

  8. katelon December 16, 2013 at 11:41 am #

    Reblogged this on Empower and Balance and commented:
    I just found this on Toemail’s blog. I felt stunned as I’ve never seen it shown anywhere other than a poster that my Mom bought for me many years ago. Her gift of this meant a lot to me as it spoke of her recognition of my valuing all races and my love of music. The town I grew up in had less obvious race issues than the south, but I had evidenced and worked against the prejudice I noticed since early childhood. My Mother was Jewish and had faced her own experiences with prejudice. So I wanted to post this to honor my Mom, her valuing of my beliefs and work. And…because it is a lovely painting.

  9. katelon December 16, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    It was a pleasant surprise to see this picture. My Mother gave me a poster of this painting many years ago. I loved the poster but also her statement in honoring my values through her gift. Lovely painting.

Let us know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,726 other followers

