Zagreb, Croatia

18 Dec

As a first entry I have to introduce, Ivan Meštrović, a sculptor I was drawn to simply because he made the statue of Nikola Tesla (a man born a century too early in my opinion, who was a genius.  But that’s fodder for another entry.). It was during our trip to Zagreb and Split in Croatia that we discovered this master sculptor, called “the greatest sculptor since the Renaissance”.

The image above is one of the first sculptings you’re greeted with at the entry of his museum in Zagreb, which happens to have been his home.  You’re welcome to touch and in my case, caress, every single one of his creations! That was an experience in itself.

He’s probably best known for the sculptings The Bowman and The Spearman located at the Congress National Gardens in Chicago.  The interesting thing about these two works is that the warriors on horseback are missing their weapons!

What I learned taking this photo:

Think about it!  You’re allowed to touch and caress the art work, giving you an opportunity to experience the flow the artist felt, perhaps, during its creation. How often does that ever happen?! You can experience it from any angle you want.  While doing this I realised that I love sculptings! I also learned that if art is executed with feeling, that feeling is also transmitted to the observer, breaking the barrier of time. For the first time I saw representation of the life of an artist that was a happy family man revealing that, indeed, artists can lead balanced, fulfilling lives. It was the first time I started to really “look” at art, to appreciate it.  And, his work was even popular with one of my all time favourite masters, Auguste Rodin, who’s exhibit we’ll be seeing on December 06th at the Palazzo Reale in Milan.  Ooooh, can’t wait!

sculpture of a nude woman by Ivan Meštrović in Zagreb, Croatia

Gorgeous work of art! :)

Check out A&M !

8 Responses to “Zagreb, Croatia”

  1. Rockabilly December 18, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    I have Croatian ancestry, wish I knew more about the place. Thanks for posting this sculpture and travel story.

  2. spartacus2030 December 19, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    I see what you mean! It doesn’t move either… I think I should go to a big city and start taking shots! Stop it, you’re inspiring me! :O)

    • toemailer January 4, 2014 at 2:33 am #

      That’s part of the idea! :)

  3. chirose December 19, 2013 at 1:34 am #

    I love Mestrovic’s work.! And Tesla’s – couldn’t agree with you more.!

  4. Lisa Snyder's Movie Page December 23, 2013 at 7:39 am #

    Reblogged this on Rock Thiz Magazine.

Let us know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,210 other followers

